Ramble: And now for something completely different…

I recently took a trip to a Small Breeds Farm and Owl Centre. Now, I’ve always had a pretty big fascination with owls – I feel that they’re incredibly valuable to the way in which our ecosystem works and, quite frankly, amazing creatures.

Admittedly, the farm itself is aimed at children. So it was only natural that myself and three other adults would take a day trip there. What I most liked about the farm was the amount of information available; a few of the birds had recently hatched, and so whilst letting people see and hold the chicks the staff are also constantly feeding you information and facts.

I think it’s important to educate people – children and adults alike – about some of the wildlife and domestic animals we share our world with (as much as it pains me to see them in cages, but you have to remember that these birds are born and bred in captivity).

Here are some of the owls that can be found at the Centre:

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Leave a comment